

The European Federation of Organisations for Medical Physics

Fairmount House, 230 Tadcaster Road, York, YO24, 1ES, UK Telephone: (+44) 1904 610821 Fax: (+44) 1904 612279

In Orsay on 25.10.2019

ANNOUNCEMENT

A NEW WG ON PET/CT AND PET/MR QC PROTOCOL - CALL FOR MEMBERS IS OPEN FOR CANDIDATES

The EFOMP hereby announces a new Working Group (WG) entitled "**PET/CT PET/MR QC Protocol**". The WG will operate under Scientific Committee from 1st February 2020 to 1st February 2022.

The rationale of the WG: The literature on routine Quality Controls in PET/CT scanners is out-of-date or no more valid, especially in the light of the new PET/CT tomographs. The scenario for PET/MRI quality controls is even worse, because of the lack of dedicated quality controls recommendations on these hybrid scanners. Thus, there is a demanding need for guidelines that identify a set of routine quality controls to perform on up-to-date PET/CT and PET/MRI scanners. The set of quality controls devised should have the characteristics of being simple and easy to realize. Reference and tolerance values will also be defined. The execution of these QC would guarantee the operation of PET/CT and PET/MRI scanners under optimal conditions ensuring the best performance in routine clinical tasks.

The suggested chair of the WG is Roberta Matheoud (IT).

The expected outcome is a PET/CT and PET/MR QC Protocol document which will provide recommendations for the medical physics community (EFOMP & NMOs).

The targeted audience is EFOMP members, NMOs, and medical physicist community in general.

The deadline to establish the WG is 31st January 2020.

NMOs are kindly asked to distribute this announcement to their members, who can apply to be a member of this WG electronically using the attached WG member application form. A professional CV is required.

The term for accepting nominations is from **28**th **October 2019 to 28**th **January 2020**. Nominations must be made electronically using the enclosed form.

Send your WG membership applications here: <u>sciencecommittee@efomp.org</u> (cc to <u>secretary@efomp.org</u>).

Thank you for your cooperation.

Yolanda Prezado Co

Chair of the Scientific committee